Skip to content

Calantha Organics Soliflore Body Bar

January 13, 2011

This yummy, organic-y, flowery goodness showed up at my house about a week ago, and I am super pleased with it, and excited to tell you about it. Made by Calantha Organics this Soliflore Body Bar, with essential oils of geranium, clary sage, and geranium, gives you such a calming, relaxing experience in the shower, and leaves your skin soft and lightly scented.

For starters who is Calantha Organics? They are a family. The Pauls to be exact. A family originally from Colombia, Julio the dad, Martha the mom, and Annie their daughter. (Snuffy and Sparky are their dogs and Margarita is their angel fish.)
They moved to the U.S. in 2002 to have access to better and more opportunities. In their quest to find these opportunities, they established Calantha Organics, as a way to show others the type of care their skins needs.  You can read more of their story here.

I love small companies, and I love stories like theirs, and how they came to be Calantha Organics. What exactly does Calantha mean?  Calantha means “beautiful blossoms” in Greek, and is one most closely embodies their products’ qualities: Reenergizing, revitalizing, and beautifying.

  • Not tested on animals
  • No Animal fats or Parabens
  • No Phthalates
  • No Petrolatum, Mineral oils or lanolin
  • No Artificial colors/dyes
  • Non-comedogenic, doesn’t cause acne
  • No genetically modified organisms

  • All vegetable
  • Environmentally Friendly
  • Naturally fragrant with essential oils, no synthetic fragrance
  • Superficial ingredients or additives
  • Clearer skin pores:  “Our bars open them up and gently cleanse them, creating a long-lasting feeling of freshness.”
  • They are also 100% vegetarian and cruelty-free
  • Manufactured ethically, using the safest, most sustainable methods.
  • Bulgarian rose essential oil is popular for different uses: from enlivening romance and relationships, to detoxing the liver and aiding menstrual tension and hangovers.
  • Clary sage essential oil known for its antidepressant and deodorant qualities, also works as a digestive aid and aphrodisiac.
  • Essential oil of Geranium is popular for its antibacterial and antimicrobial properties, it also helps treat acne, burns, and even depression and anxiety.

So upon receiving this soap the first things that I noticed was the smell. Before I go any farther I think I should tell you a little bit about my history with rose scented things. I used to hate, literally hate the smell of it. When I was younger I don’t know what it was, I just didn’t care for it. However, on my journey in the organic/natural world I’ve discovered a few things that are important to know. We as a society, are enveloped, literally, enveloped in so many synthetic and artificial fragrances, we are, how should I put this? Desensitized? We can’t as the phrase goes, stop to smell the roses and actually appreciate it. We just don’t appreciate things in their natural glory.  Make sense?

So I did just that. As I cut synthetic fragrances and artificial sugars out of my life, I began to explore and appreciate the smells of natural things, and the taste of something in its natural form. I love the smell of roses. Love them. Not only do I love the smell of it, but the benefits of Rose Oil for your skin, is phenomenal.

I love this bar a lot. While I was photo editing earlier, I browsed the site and realized that it stated Face AND Body Bar. How easily sidetracked I am, I immediately ran up stairs, and…washed my face 🙂

And yes, not only does it work good on the body, it works great on the face. The number one thing I like about this, aside from the yummy smell, is the way it leaves my skin feeling. Even the most natural of bars, still leave my skin dry. This did not. I loved that about it. And because it didn’t, I used it on my daughter. She said she smelled like a flower, and she said she liked it. She now requests the “flower soap” when she gets in the shower.

Calantha Organics has 4 bars to choose from. Citrus, Leafy Green, Wood, and Soliflore. Aside from having fantastic website. From the long detailed descriptions (i love that) to the reasons for why you WON’T find them on the shelf at the store.

This bar as well as the other 3 can be purchased online at Calanthas Organics.  You can also Follow them on Twitter and Facebook as well.

 

 

 

 

**Disclosure**

This product was sent to me for review purposes at Eat.Sleep.Beauty., by Annie. Thanks! 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a comment