Skip to content

Rocky Mountain Soap Company-Pink Lotus Natural Perfume

January 25, 2011

Everyone likes to smell good. But not everyone wants to smell like the latest craze, celebrity, or the person sitting next to them. When I started my green beauty path it was by choice. I was aware of the hundreds of chemicals that my body was getting wrapped in just by my every day product. Perfumes and Body Sprays are no exception.  They are literally a toxic cocktail full of chemicals that are really dangerous for us. And while I started by choice, my green choices ended up being the only option as I started to become super sensitive to synthetic fragrances.

Its super important that what we use on our body is natural. I wish that I was a neurologist so I could better explain some of the more severe side effects of conventional makeup counter perfumes. Its not pretty.  So as much as I may have liked the smell of my Dior, I put it down and walked away.

There’s a very interesting point that I learned about natural fragrances. Probably the coolest feature as far as I’m concerned. It wasn’t until I read it on the Rocky Mountain Soap webpage that I learned that:

Natural Fragrances are very different from those containing synthetic fragrances.  They must be tried on the skin and then sniffed periodically as they develop and change to our own individual body chemistry.

Now, I’m no rocket scientist, but that pretty much says to me that Mother Nature says we can have our own custom perfume. Umm, thats pretty cool. (Men, Valentines Day is approaching so keep reading, as this would make a fabulous gift!! Hint Hint!) This is a Natural Perfume called Pink Lotus, made by Rocky Mountain Soap Company.  They have 3 kinds of Natural Perfumes, Jasmine, Mountain Butterfly, and Pink Lotus, that come in cute Amber roller-balls. You can see all 3 here.

Pink Lotus, is a fresh, fruity, youthful, clean, energizing perfume. I like that its a cross between sweet fruity, with a slight floral touch. And that may be different on someone else, due to the naturalness of the product.

“Our perfumes are composed of essential oils rare and Indian attars; hand selected by a master aromatherapist and perfumist. A beautiful fragrance does not have to cost the Earth.”

 

And it doesn’t. At 28.99 CAD its very reasonably priced. I like the portability of it. Previously I only liked perfumes that spray. But I honestly have started to really favor roller-balls. Its quick, convenient, and you use way less.

 

I really like this scent. I think I am going to make Mountain Butterfly my next purchase. Its a “spicy, woodsy, oriental, seductive, mysterious, and provocative.”  I’ve really learned that I like woodsy type smells. Once you stop using synthetic, fake fragrances, you’ll be able to re-train your nose how to smell. You will smell things you’ve never smelled before. You will smell things that you have smelled before but learn to appreciate them in a new way. Take roses for example. I used to hate the smell of roses and rose oil. Now, I love it.  You just have to go about things naturally. Once you do, its a new take on life. Its a new experience.

 

The list of ingredients reads clean and easy: Sunflower seed oil (helianthus annuus), grain alcohol (alcohol), essential oils of tangerine (citrus reticulata), pink grapefruit (citrus paradisi), bitter orange (citrus aurantium), lime (citrus aurantifolia), lemongrass (cymbopogon citratus), bergamot (citrus bergamia) and carrot seed (daucus carota) with attar of pink lotus(attar of nelumbo nucifera), vitamin E(tocopherol).

 

You can buy these wonderful perfumes online at Rocky Mountain Soap. If you are in Canada, lucky you, they have stores. (So Jealous!)  You can use the store locations page to find the one nearest you.   You can learn more about Rocky Mountain Soap on their About Us page. Don’t forget to read my post on another one of their fabulous products, their Foot Butter. And stay tuned I am reviewing their fantastic Avocado Facial Bar later today.

Rocky Mountain Soap on Facebook

**Disclosure**

This product was sent to me for review purposes at Eat.Sleep.Beauty. This in no way effects my opinion of the product. My opinion is my own.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

