Skip to content

Why I don’t like Bare Minerals

October 18, 2010

I love mineral makeup. I loved it way before it became the newest thing to beauty and took the world by storm. I was loyal for almost 7 years to the uber famous Bare Minerals. At the time, it did everything it claimed to do. But once it became super famous, something changed, and not for the better.

It felt disgusting and gross on my face. Felt heavy, and made my face yell obscenities at me, every time I opened the jar.

As a loyal user I was quite aware of their “swirl,tap, and buff” concept. I know how to apply mineral foundation. I’m not a newbie. I’m also not an idiot, since mineral makeup is quite fool proof. Upon contacting the company about the results I was having (making me breakout, tons of creasing and felt heavy), I was asked if was applying it correctly, and no they absolutely hadn’t changed anything.
Bologna.
I know cheap ingredients when I see/feel them, and my skin called BS almost immediately. I threw the jar away and vowed to never buy ANY of their products again. And I haven’t. Its massed produced, there’s no quality or uniqueness there what so ever. Its garbage.

I must have been hallucinating?

I was mad. Raging Mad actually. A loyal customer for almost 7 yrs and this is how they treated me. I had owned almost every and I mean EVERY collectors set up until that point. I don’t think we even need to break out calculators to explain for anyone to get how much money were talking. They should have been bowing in my presence at that point.

I vowed to to search high and low for the best of the best in the mineral world, and weed through the wannabes. Rule #1 just because it has the word mineral on it, absolutely does NOT make it natural, by any means. And if its from the drugstore, I’m sorry but its not natural. To make it to a drugstore or big box, a product has to be mass produced and therefore loses the edge it needs.

That edge ladies is quality. Quality is a huge thing. Its not just about the care that’s put into it being made, its about ingredients.

 

Writing about mineral makeup lately has had me thinking about how I got started in this direction. And sometimes when it makes me mad, so I thought I’d blog.

 

Hope you all enjoyed my mini hissy fit 🙂

 

 

~Beauty Mama

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2011 8:21 pm

    Wow I really liked what you said on this blog. I haven’t found very much support or contradiction about Bare Minerals and everyone seems to talk about them like they are good but I guess we can say “were good”. Personally I didn’t see the attraction but didn’t think too much about it.
    We sell mineral cosmetics on our site. Our producer makes them is small batches from high quality ingredients. So I wonder if you have tried them or not? They are made in Canada by Pure Anada and we think they are amazing. Would love to hear what you think!

    Sandie Hardman
    organicskincareonline.ca

    • January 13, 2011 1:06 am

      Sandie,
      Ya know its funny. I either encounter people who agree with me 100%, people who knew something was odd with BE, just couldn’t put their finger on it, or people who just don’t see what I see, and have great luck with it. To each his own I guess. I have not tried your products. I looked around earlier, its a very nice site. Will be in touch! Thanks for commenting!

      ~Beauty Mama

Leave a Reply

