Skip to content

BlackBerry HS-700 Wireless Headset

October 11, 2010

I know what your thinking. What does a bluetooth have to do with beauty? My site covers beauty but it also covers other things. Baby products, eco-friendly, and Mom things. This, is a mom thing. Now, everyone can use it, but its extremely helpful for busy moms on the go. Actually, now that I think of it, there have been many of times where I have tried to carry out a conversation while putting on eyeliner, and well, that just doesn’t work. So I hear by classify this, as a beauty tool accessory as well. 🙂

As a mom, I am on the go. Even if I’m not leaving the house, I’m on the go. I’m busy. I’m here, I’m there, I’m everywhere. I’m washing dishes, carrying babies or laundry, or cooking.  Answering the phone isn’t always an option or something I even have a hand free to do. But having a bluetooth makes it significantly easier. I like to write very detailed reviews. I know that myself, as a consumer, I research before I buy.  If you came here for the short version, its a great bluetooth and well worth the money. If you’d like to learn more and see pictures keep reading. 🙂 I write in a way that is easy for everyone to understand. Not to technical.

Meet your new helper, the Blackberry HS-700 Wireless Headset. Puts your voice in control of things. The possibilites are endless.  So simple and easy to use. Comes with an easy to read, and understandable user guide. As well as the fact that it talks to you. Yes. It talks to you. Straight out of the box, turn the ear piece to turn it on, it greets you, and walks you through step-by-step setup instructions for pairing with your phone, and getting started.

Unpacking the box,…..Inside the box, it comes with bluetooth unit, ear hooks in 2 sizes, standard ear gel, cushioned ear gel, and stabilizing ear gel in 3 sizes, Micro-USB cable, USB power plug and user guide.  With all the options of ear pieces, and ways that you are able to wear it, everyone is sure to get the fit that works best for them. Built to work with your BlackBerry, it works with specific  BlackBerry applications. It uses your Contacts list to announce the name of your caller , plays audio files(if you have any stored to your phone), and announces GPS mapping turn-by-turn directions. If you don’t have contacts saved, it will say the number. It has approximately 4.5 hours of use, and 200 hours of standby. For most people a good charge will last you throughout your busy day. And if, your curious while you are out, you can just press the voice control button and say “Battery” and it will tell you how much you have left. No more guessing, and then having the red light flash at you. It has 2 buttons, one of which is obvious, one of them not so much. The voice control button on the side, and a call control key.While not physically visible, the Call Command Key is what I call a “clicky” button, meaning that if you push where my arrow is, it clicks down. Make sense? I have 2 more pictures to show you, then we will get down to all the rockin’ features this baby has. To turn it on, you turn the earpiece, put it in your ear, and you’ll hear,  “Welcome, you are now connected, you can use your headset now.”   To turn it off, turn it back.

Features:

Your in the middle of giving the kids a bath,  and your husband calls from the grocery store, for the millionth time. Without letting go of your squirming babies, you can say “Answer”, and it will answer the call. In the middle of something, and your mother-in-law calls (kidding Judy), say “Ignore” to send the call to Voicemail. What if you are new to the world of bluetooth, don’t want to carry around the user manual or simply are having a mommy memory loss moment? Using the Voice Command Options you can say, “What can I say?”  Seriously. And it will tell you what your options are. How ridiculously easy is that? I found the voice accuracy to be pretty on target.

Music:

Provided that you have music saved to your phone, you can use the Voice Commands function, and say “Play, Next Track, Previous Track,  Pause, Stop, Volume up, Volume down. I don’t personally keep music on my phone, because I am extremely addicted to Pandora Radio. But I will most definitely be adding some tracks soon, to play with these functions.

Voice Command Options:

  • Check Battery Life
  • Open your options menu
  • Pairing mode with a bluetooth device
  • Redial a phone number
  • Call the last call you had, while bluetooth was on
  • Make a call

Call Control Key:

  • Answer a second call
  • Ignore a second call
  • Switch between two active calls
  • Mute a call
  • Turn off mute
  • End a call

I’ve tested this various places, and not once have I had someone say they couldn’t hear me, or have I had a hard time hearing them. Once I was at the store, and it wasn’t until I said that I was at the store, did the caller know because of its noise-cancellation technology. I love bluetooths. I have owned about 3. My last was a pretty nice Motorola, and I love this one soo much more. The key things I look for in a bluetooth are battery life, and sound quality. Because for me, a bluetooth has to perform more then just call tasks. I always use a bluetooth for when I go running, or in the case of over the weekend, grocery shopping. Yes, I listen to music while grocery shopping. A story for another day. 🙂 But I am happy to report, that while I cranked out all my songs on Pandora, they came through crystal clear, as did my calls.

I’m very happy with it, and I like it a lot. My only tiny and I mean tiny gripe, is the USB charging cord is super short and I wish it was a little longer. Other then that I like how it functions, and how it looks. Its super easy and functions smoothly. Even someone who’s never used a bluetooth or has a hard time with electronics, would adapt to this easily. I love my BlackBerry Bold 9000 with its sexy leather and chrome backing, so I love that this matches nicely. I can’t see anyone being disappointed with this device.

You can buy this at the BlackBerry Online store, Best Buy, Amazon, and Crackberry. I personally always shop straight from the manufacturer just in case any problems arise.

Hugs & Lip Gloss,

Beauty Mama

***Disclosure***

This item was sent to me for review purposes at Eat.Sleep.Beauty.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mahmoud Haroun permalink
    March 17, 2012 12:44 am

    How to turn off your headset? I tried turning it right / left twisted it every direction and no use

Leave a Reply

