Skip to content

Jane Iredale Absence Oil Control Primer

October 4, 2010

Primer of any sort is helpful for proper longevity of makeup. When you have oily skin however, it becomes a necessity. Oil is the #1 reason that make-up colors do not stay true. Most of time make-up products take the blame for darkening throughout the day, when Oil is probably more likely the cause. I am kind of a newbie to the world of primers, as I have been using them for just under a year. Still, I’m not sure how I ever managed before without a primer.

Most primers you will find will come in a lotion, or gel-like consistency. Thats what set this out from the rest, and made me really curious. Absence Oil Control, a genius product from Jane Iredale, The Skincare Makeup, primes the skin, and eliminates shine. SPF 15, and Oil Free, it comes in a flat jar style container. When you open it, there’s an indented disc that holds the sponge that aids in application.  I’ve been trying to think of way to describe the texture of it. So, if i said, it reminds me of a solid perfume, only creamy, would that make sense? Hope so. Feels creamy upon application but sets to a powder finish. It comes with an instruction guide that tells you how to use.

  1. Using the tail end of the foundation brush, scoop a small pea size or small out, and dot on the back of your hand.
  2. Swirl with brush end
  3. With the brush end, make 3 X’s across your forehead
  4. Make 2 X’s on each side of nose. Cheek bone area.
  5. Make 1 X on your chin.
  6. Using the sponge, blend downward.

I’ll admit, I cheat. I’m so super short on time in the morning that most days, blending downward I just use the sponge. I know, I know.  You don’t need a foundation brush, but it does help.

Benefits:

  • Smooths the skin for the application of mineral bases
  • Conceals pores for flawless finish
  • Reduces over-active oil production, and helps regulate the pH of the skin
  • All skin types, especially good for acne, oily, and rosacea skin.
  • Comes in 2 shades
  • Forms a breathable barrier between skin and minerals, helping makeup stay on longer, and shine free
  • Green Tea in concentration of 3% has been shown to clear acne

This is a nice primer that gets the job. I think my favorite thing is that it doesn’t fell like that dreaded extra step or layer. Once on and set, it leaves an undetectable powder finish. Would be suitable for no makeup faces as well, since it doesn’t dry white, or look white on your face. Of all the primers its the one I like the best, and the one I reach for the most.

You can find this product online at Jane Iredale,  or use the Store Locator, to find spas/shops in your area, or Online boutiques.

Hugs & Kisses,

Beauty Mama

***Disclosure***

This item was sent to me for review purposed at Eat.Sleep.Beauty., by Perry, who is fantastic!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

