Skip to content

Yes to Baby Carrots

September 26, 2010

It’s baby week here at Eat.Sleep.Beauty., and everyday I will be featuring new baby products. You don’t want to miss out, stay tuned! Today we will be taking an in depth look at one of the newest members to the coveted Yes To Carrots brand. Baby Carrots, for our babies. Will they smell like carrots? Keep reading,….

Yes to baby Carrots is a collection of 4 baby products to clean, refresh, soothe, and moisturize your little carrot or carrots, from head to toe. Free of parabens, phthalates, and SLS, It consists of a Naturally Cleansing Bubble Bath, Gentle Foaming Shampoo + Body Wash, Nourishing Baby Lotion, and Soothing Diaper Cream. No, they will not smell like carrots. But if you are a fan of the Yes to Carrots line, it smells very similar, just more toned down, more milder.  Lets take a look at each one shall we?

First up, bubble bath. Directions: add two squirts, and swirl to make tiny bubbles. Do not be tempted to do more. 2 squirts will get you a decent amount of bubbles, pretty much everywhere, once you add 2 little hooligans to the mix. Because after all, who doesn’t love a great bubble bath, especially kids, right? I won’t lie, I’ve used it as well. It was a nice bubble bath.

This refreshing and moisturizing bath derived from 100% natural feel good ingredients such as aloe vera, organic melons, and vitamin E, is a heaping bath full of tear-free fun bubbles.  Organic Aloe Vera, a high effective, naturally gentle moisturizer, refreshes and soothes tender skin. Organic Melons, rich in antioxidants, packed with Vitamins C & A, and Potassium, help protect and gently soften skin, while Vitamin E, a protective antioxidant, softens and moisturizes skin.

Once in the tub, covered in bubbles, its time for hair and body….. This Gentle foaming shampoo and body wash, will have your little carrots clean in no time, thanks to the handy foam top. I really like foam style containers. Aside from the ease of use, they just seem like they last longer. With softening Organic Melon, and moisturizing Vitamin E, it gets a boost of Vitamin A, from Nourishing Carrot Oil. Organic carrots, rich in Beta Carotene is a natural form of Vitamin A. Its antioxidant properties help protect, nourish, and maintain softness of the skin.

Once you’ve scrubbed your little carrots from top to bottom, its time to get them out of the tub, and dry off….I know, I know…this will prompt many protests from your bubble loving children. But out of the tub they must go, its lotion time! I know I’m not weird when I say this, because I know that there are other moms who feel this way, but,…I love rubbing my kids down with lotion. Especially their little toes, and their bellies. My little two love it, when they get their legs rubbed. They zone out.  This pampering, hydrating, soothing and nourishing lotion, made with Aloe Vera, Organic Carrots, and Cocoa Butter, will keep the skin soft, and smooth. Made of 100% natural and hypo-allergenic ingredients, it is gentle enough to apply several times a day. Cocoa Butter helps soften the skin, and retain moisture, and make the lotion rich. It absorbs fairly quickly.

Because we want our babies to be happy from head to toe, now would be the time to address, any diaper rash issues, before getting them dressed, in their cute PJ’s.I’m picky when it comes to diaper creams. For starters, I do not buy the conventional ones, no Desitin in my house, sorry. I know that there are cleaner options.  This cream rich in Aloe Vera, Organic Pumpkin, and Zinc Oxide will have your baby happy in no time. Organic Pumpkin, packed with Beta Carotene and Vitamins A & E, Pumpkin nourishes, soothes and hydrates the skin. Zinc Oxide, a natural anti-irritant that soothes and provides a gentle and protective barrier between skin and moisture. This diaper cream has the highest amount of Zinc Oxide I’ve ever seen in a diaper cream, at a whopping 25%!! Its super thick, and takes a little bit of oomph! to get out of the tube, but its super healing.

I like this line a lot. Each item runs affordable at around $8 a piece, and is fairly easy to find at places such as Target, Meijer, Duane Reade, and online at drugstore.com, and yestocarrots.com

I only have one complaint. Yes, one. Because I’m super obsessively picky when it comes to what goes on my kids skin, I am anal about reading labels. I dissect them, and google ingredients.  Here’s my issue… I’m a huge stickler when it comes to fragrance, and the dirty word Phthalates.  My complaint is, the product states 100% Natural, and also states it is Phthalates free. But…the label includes the words,….”Fragrance(parfum)”  Which to me, means synthetic. If it were natural, I feel like it would state the origin of the natrual fragrance, example….essential oils, etc.   I could be way off. It could be Yes To’s way of protecting their “top secret” carrot scent. According to google it can mean a natural blend of ingredients, and to protect formulas, companies are allowed to disclose it as such, but it can also mean chemical compounds.   But to me, it is just to general. I need to know.  If anyone has this answer, please let me know!!

Other then that it is a great line, free of all the basic yuckies, that are floating around in conventional baby products found everywhere from the drugstore to the big shopping stores. I do recommend, but not without disclosing the fragrance thing.

What are your thoughts? Have you tried this line? Do you, yourself use the Yes to Carrots line?

Hugs & Lip Gloss,

Beauty Mama

***Disclosure***

These products were sent to me for review purposes by Kim, who is super nice and  understanding.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2010 1:49 pm

    I hope you received official word from the product development manager on this, but I just wanted to assure you that the fragrance is 100% natural and Phthalates free. Sometimes full ingredients lists are not disclosed because the formulas are proprietary. (Secret stuff!)

Leave a Reply

