Skip to content

Pür Minerals Start Now 4-Piece Essentials Collection

September 16, 2010

The cosmetic world is ridiculously packed with mineral this, and mineral that. Its hard for anyone who’s thinking of converting or even browsing, to make sense of any of it. For starters, your not going to find anything healthy or beneficial from a big box store or from a drugstore. Step away from the Cover Girl and Revlon, its all just garbage.Here is what you get in the kit:

4-in-1 Pressed Mineral Makeup: The cornerstone of Pür Minerals, this one-minute mineral makeup miracle is your mineral foundation, powder, concealer and SPF protection all in one neat makeup compact. Completely free of oil, alcohol, fragrances, preservatives and chemical dyes.
Mineral Glow: A touch of sun in a makeup compact, this mineral powder will impart a natural, sun-kissed glow to your skin.
Universal Marble Powder: Give your skin back that rosy glow you were born with. Porcelain through Tan Start Now kits come with Marble Powder in Pink. Medium Dark through Deepest include Marble Powder in Spice. This multi-purpose mineral makeup can be worn on your eyes, lips and cheeks.

The Chisel Makeup Brush: The magic behind the mineral makeup look! The only makeup brush to use for application of your 4-in-1 Mineral Makeup, it provides maximum coverage and an amazingly smooth finish.

To use, dip the brush into the powder, and draw circles in the lid.

What I like:

  • The 4-in-1 provides quick full coverage
  • no mess compacts
  • didn’t break me out
  • exact color match in the 4-in-1, I used the porcelain
  • no glittery, shiny disco ball effect like some mineral makeups
  • bronzer is a nice color, a sheer glow
  • blush is universal and a pretty shade of pink
  • wasn’t heavy on the skin
  • no creasing or settling
  • no increased color/darkening at the end of the day
  • worked well under eyes

Here is what I didn’t like:

  • All the products were preservative aka Paraben free, except for the Bronzer, which contained 2 parabens, so that was kind of a deal breaker
  • They all kind of have an “off” smell, but the blush has an extremely funky smell
  • 4-in-1 is kind of a huge claim. To which I must say, it just does not work as a concealer. Minor imperfections maybe, “real” acne like most people get no. Layering, not only makes it look cakey, but it still didn’t cover
  • The brush is awful. It was scratchy and it acheived a some what cakey look. It did not make it go on smoothly. Good concept, but it needed smoother, softer bristles
  • The 4-in-1 HAS the potential to be a good product. The problem is with the included brush, it gets a tad bit cakey. I used my own brush with soft fluid bristles and it worked significantly.

I would love to say that I love all products I review, but the truth is I don’t. I have an odd love-hate relationship with this product. I like somethings about it, but I don’t love it. While it didn’t cover acne, it is a quick full coverage that toned down redness, requiring much less time doing concealer, and covering, etc.  On days where I am running late it did come in hand to buff it on really quick, and go.  Especially since it did pretty decent under eyes to give them a quick pick me up and covered a decent amount of redness.

While maybe not 100% natural, I would use this Pür Minerals any day over the wildy famous Bare Minerals, which claims to be 100% natural. If I ever state that I product is on the same level as Bare Minerals, you should most definitely not use it. Bare Minerals is a cheap, half-effortlessly made mineral make up, that just sucks.  Thats not my whole theory, but more for another day. I think it would make a good gift for people or for teens maybe just starting out. Its also excellent for traveling. Remember, not everything is for everyone. This brand, and the 4-in-1, has a huge cult following, so it could just be me. I would say that the 4-in-1, is definitely worth a repurchase. I’m on the fence as far as the other 2 go.

This Kit and all other Pür Minerals products available at Pür Minerals. You can use there store locator, and find the store nearest you that carries their products.

Hugs & Lip Gloss,

Beauty Mama

***DISCLOSURE***
This item was sent to me for review purposes at Eat.Sleep.Beauty., by the lovely Lindsay

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

