Skip to content

CARGO Plant Love 100% Natural Origin Lipsticks

August 16, 2010

Be The Change. Its what it says on the boxes of Plant Love Products. These super-famous lipsticks are a coveted fav among make up junkies as well as celebrities. Not just for their spectacular shades and qualities and eco friendly-ness, but their celebrity designed shades, as well as their celeb shades inspired by their children. From Lindsay Lohan to Denise Richards, they’ve made the pages of several different magazines. The Facts:

  • EcoCert
  • No Synthetics, Dyes, Fragrances, or Parabens
  • 100% of ingredients are of natural origin, 71% from organic farming
  • Eco Friendly Packaging
  • Lipstick tube is made of corn, a renewable resource
  • Box is embedded with wildflower seeds, simply moisten and plant.
  • $2 from the sale of each lipstick, goes to St. Jude’s Research Hospital.

The 2 shades I am reviewing are Sarah (Sarah Chalke) and Grace(Angie Harmon). Grace is a shimmering sheer ice stawberry sorbet Sarah is a shimmering pink pearl, I would also add that I think it has a tiny hint of coral Grace is on the left, and Sarah is on the left. Grace – top, Sarah – bottom I really like these lipsticks. I would classify this as my first successful lipstick experience. Normally you get the super dry feeling as soon as you put it on. Not with this, it had almost like a balm texture to it. I also should point out that theres a sheerness to them. Which is great. Theres a lot of darker shades that I thought would be too dark. I’m totally craving the Mariska Hargitay shade, but thought it would be to dark. It really probably isn’t. Its even listed as a warm nude color. Its pretty. I’m really impressed with the lipcolors. Sarah was my favorite out of the two, the Grace one was a little to shimmery for my tastes but its still very pretty. Typically I am not a lipstick kinda girl. I go normally for balms and then glosses, but I’m branching out. I’ve tried lipsticks before. Never been to impressed. It always has that typical lipstick smell. Which I’m sure most of you are familiar with. This did not have that. It didn’t really smell like anything really. Statistics show that over a lifetime a woman eats 4-9 lbs. of lipstick. Eww. Gross. With this you don’t have to worry about it. With skin nourishing ingredients such as castor oil, sunflower seed oil, apricot kernel oil, evening primrose, and cocoa butter, you don’t need to worry. These beauties are lead free!  A lot of lipsticks still contain lead which is such a sad fact. 😦 oh well their lose!!   Some of us ladies are smart cookies. 🙂

I’d recommend these lipsticks to anyone who typically hates lipstick, or hasn’t found the “perfect” lipstick. They are very daytime chic, which is a plus.

I used to see Plant Love carried online at Sephora, which is where I first became familiar with their products. I see they no longer carry it online. I was in my Sephora the other day, one which is in a JCPenney. And saw that a small collection of Plant Love was carried in the CARGO section. So it may be a hit or miss, some Sephora’s may have it, some not. But exclusively it is being sold at Beauty 360 for $20. Beauty 360 is a division of CVS Pharmacies. They have quite a few stores. I’m unfortunate to live no where near one :(, but you might!!! 🙂 Check their store locater section.

Like it, Love it, Hate it, or Want it? Lemme Hear it!

***DISCLOSURE***

This item was sent to me for review purposes at Eat.Sleep.Beauty.

A HUGE thanks to Christie for her patience. I should make her cookies or something 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

