Skip to content

BE Bare Minerals Matte Foundation

July 8, 2010

In being fair to everyone I decided to not be a bare minerals snob and re-review. Let’s recap. For 6 years I was a faithful BE girl. Loved my BE and owned every collection ever made. I had over 100 brushes as well.
Towards the end of my relationship was when the mineral craze hit the world and people everywhere went ga-ga over mineral powders.

It started getting mass produced, got cheaper, and the quality just sucked! It felt gross and greasy. I called there customer service who told me nothing changed and wondered if I knew how to apply it correctly. Seriously?! 6 years I wore it, and that’s what she asks me? Oy.

So. Sephora included a sample 10 day trial of BE matte, mineral veil, and an itty bitty kabuki brush, in my order. I thought eh if nothing else, I’ll have another brush. It was free, and it also gave me the chance to try the matte version, which supposedly was good for oily skin yada yada.

I have a brush. That’s what I got out of it. I still don’t like BE. The matte version was just weird. I wear or wore, fairly light. The fairly light matte was darker and was like almost a orangish shade. Not a fan. Not a fan at all. Not only was it a little darker, but it also did nothing for my skin either. It still felt the same as the original. A hot mess. Felt greasy and gross.

Sorry Leslie, nothings changed. You guys dropped the ball on a really good thing you had going.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 12, 2010 10:35 am

    Having introduced Indian Earth, and the concept of a totally “single ingredient” mineral makeup in 1977, I believe I understand very well your comments on the subject of Bare Minerals.

    Indian Earth “was” a truly natural product, made in and by nature.

    As the founder of the company, I took great pride in being able to offer an authentic alternative to chemical produced color cosmetic products. Over a period of 6 years, the company had distribution in over 30 countries, and in over 1500 of the major department stores throughout the United States.

    I sold my interest in (RFA Corp.) Indian earth in 1983 an sadly watched the company create an alternative formula to the original product and loose the incredible market share, it had created over the years.

    Perhaps that’s the sacrifice for a company that “goes mass market” and attempts to reduce the costs of the ingredients, for the benefit, not to the consumer, but to the company’s bottom line profits.

    I enjoy very much the forthrightness of your blogs and appreciate the aim and purpose of the blogs existence.

    Congratulations, on your journey, and given time, I trust you’ll come to realize, as yet unknown rewards for contributing to your fellow man/woman.

    With kind regards,

    Richard Faun

Leave a Reply

